home | authors | books | about

Home -> Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde - Biography & Works


The Picture of Dorian Gray


A Woman of No Importance

An Ideal Husband

Lady Windermere's Fan

The Importance of Being Earnest


The Devoted Friend

The Happy Prince

The Nightingale and the Rose

The Remarkable Rocket

The Selfish Giant


Ave Imperatrix

Ave Maria Gratia Plena

Fabien Dei Franchi

Flower of Love

From 'The Burden Of Itys'

From 'The Garden Of Eros'


Libertatis Sacra Fames

Madonna Mia

Magdalen Walks

On The Massacre Of The Christians In Bulgaria



Roses And Rue

Sonnet On Hearing The Dies Irae Sung In The Sistine Chapel

The Ballad Of Reading Gaol

The Grave Of Shelley

The Harlot's House

Theocritus - A Villanelle

To My Wife - With A Copy Of My Poems

Oscar WildeOscar Wilde was born on October 16, 1854 in Dublin, Ireland. His mother was a poet and a journalist and his father was a writer and a doctor.

Wilde studied at Trinity College in Dublin and at Magdalen College in Oxford.
In 1878 he received his B.A. and moved to London.

In 1884 Oscar Wilde married Constance Lloyd. He became an editor of “Woman's World” magazine from 1887-89 because he had to support his family. In 1888 he published “The Happy Prince and Other Tales”, fairytales written for his two sons. He divorced Constance in 1893. A few years earlier Wilde had met Lord Alfred Douglas known as his pet name Bosie. He was a poet and became the love of the author's life. Wilde years of success ended when he was charged with homosexuality and brought to trial. He was sentenced 2 years to hard labour.

His best-known works are “Lady Wintermere's Fan”(1892) and “The Importance of Being Earnest”(1895), both comic masterpieces, as well as “A Woman of No Importance” (1893), “An Ideal Husband” (1895). “The Picture of Dorian Gray”, his only novel was published in 1890 as well as in our literature collection.

He died on November 30, 1900.

© Art Branch Inc. | English Dictionary